Reading Suggestions

Find your next great read here

When all of Susan Mallery’s books are checked out…

Leave a comment

Chasing perfectSusan Mallery writes contemporary, moderately steamy, witty romances typically set in the western US.  Her characters are emotionally involving, and include world champion cyclists, reality tv show producers, underwear models, librarians and other heroes/heroines not often found in the romance novel universe. Her longest series, Fool” Gold,  features interrelated stories set in the fictional California town Fool’s Gold.

When you’ve read all of Susan Mallery, why not try…

Printer-friendly version

 

 

 

Jennifer CrusieWelcome to Temptation

Funny and smart, Crusie’s novels turn conventions of the romance genre on their ear.  Her heroines are quirky, outspoken, strong women; her heroes, men who like quirky, outspoken, strong women.  This Librarian highly recommends Welcome to Temptation, Crazy For You and Bet Me.

 

 

 

 

 

Susan Elizabeth PhillipsIt had to be you

Writing historical and contemporary romance, Phillips writes likeably flawed heroes and heroines.  Many of her novels feature the world of professional athletics.  Start the Chicago Stars series with It Had to Be You, or the Wynette Texas series with Glitter Baby.

 

 

 

 

 

Linda HowardRunning wild : a novel

Howard writes dramatic romantic suspense with overtly sexy heroes and tough-minded heroines.  She uses multiple points of view and rich dialogue to create a fast-paced, suspenseful plot, whether it’s a contemporary western or urban fantasy.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fern MichaelsWish list

Michaels’ stories focus on the heroine and her relationships with friends, family and men. Usually given a Glitz and Glamour setting, her novels sometimes have an element of romantic suspense.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lori FosterRun the risk

Foster’s rugged working class heroes and capable, intelligent heroines live predominantly in the mountains of Kentucky and West Virginia.  Her characters include firefighters, police officers, construction workers and mercenaries.  Steamy, suspenseful and witty.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Elizabeth LowellPearl Cove

A prolific long-time romance favorite, Lowell currently writes romantic suspense series featuring heroes in dangerous professions and smart, strong heroines who are not accustomed to the heroes’ high-risk world but hold their own.  Lowell’s earlier contemporary romance novels are less suspenseful, lightly humorous, and set frequently on ranches and in small western towns with passionate characters and an intense focus on the developing relationship.  This Librarian highly recommends the Donovan Family series (start with Amber Beach) and Chain Lightning. 

 

 

 

 

Jayne Ann KrentzIn too deep

Quirky characters and quippy dialogue are Krentz’ trademarks.  Suspenseful with the occasional hint of paranormal, Krentz’s novels are fast-paced and engaging.  

 

 

 

 

 

Jill ShalvisAlways on my mind

Setting her largest series in the fictional west coast seaside town Lucky Harbor, Shalvis creates stories about characters with difficult pasts…Iraq war veterans with PTSD, domestic abuse victims, widows…that are nonetheless light and happy.  This Librarian highly recommends Always On My Mind.

 

 

 

 

 

Robyn CarrVirgin River : a Virgin River novel

Carr’s Virgin River series is an excellent readalike for Mallery’s Fool’s Gold series.  Heart-warming and steamy, with a focus on the community in which the characters reside, Carr’s novels intertwine with characters appearing across several novels in the series.  Start with Virgin River.

 

 

 

 

 

Linda Lael MillerMontana Creeds : Logan

Historical and contemporary western romance featuring cowboys, lawmen, ranchers, rodeo riders and the occasional paranormal element.

 

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s