Reading Suggestions

Find your next great read here


Leave a comment

Nicholas Sparks readalikes

Author Nicholas SparksNicholas Sparks is a master of poignant love stories. In his novels there is no great love without some loss and his characters frequently are faced with a difficult challenge before proving they are worthy of true love. Sparks’ characters are honorable and loyal, and they place a lot of importance on family and sometimes religious faith. The pace of his stories is leisurely, quickening for rapid action and dialogue. Sparks’ writing is not dense and he aims for easy-to-read prose with a romantic tone.

Printer-friendly version

Continue reading


Leave a comment

Mary Higgins Clark readalikes

For over three decades Mary Higgins Clark has been the benchmark for the suspense genre, writing fast-paced, intricately plotted, compelling stories of women and children in jeopardy, but told without sex, violence, or vulgar language. These novels unfold within a limited time frame, and readers are given the point of view of both the heroine and the villain. Readers can relate to the heroines of these stories. These women are intelligent and gutsy, and play an active role in extricating themselves from dangerous situations.

Printer-friendly

a

a

a

a Continue reading


Leave a comment

John Grisham readadlikes

Although he established his reputation with fast-paced David-versus-Goliath legal thrillers, John Grisham’s recent work includes nonfiction and short stories and displays a distinctly darker outlook when writing about the law. His non-legal novels address coming-of-age issues and are more intimate and heartening. Issue-oriented storylines drive all his cinematic tales filled with engaging, sympathetic characters, dangerous secrets, and relentless pacing. His earlier legal thrillers are less provocative; more recent titles explore political and legal issues without  Hollywood endings. Grisham has also written a legal thriller series for older kids.

Printer-friendly version

a

a

a Continue reading


1 Comment

James Patterson readalikes

James Patterson began his career writing fast-paced single-title and series suspense novels, but he now publishes multiple series for adults in genres as diverse as crime thrillers/suspense, science fiction, historical fiction, and romance. Not to mention books for teens, younger readers, and a handful of adult nonfiction. Whether writing edge-of-one’s seat novels of hard-edged suspense or heartwarming tales of romance and relationships, he captivates male and female readers alike with sympathetic characters, short chapters, and compelling, labyrinthine plots.

Printer-friendly version

a

a

a

a

a Continue reading


1 Comment

If you like The Hunger Games….

hunger games

The Hunger Games

Catching Fire

Mockingjay

Printable version

Also check out this chart from Lawrence Public Library to pick the best Hunger Games readalike match for you!

Continue reading


Leave a comment

Stephen King readalikes

IMG_0217Stephen King is often called the Master of Horror with his knack for bringing to life the most terrifying of nightmares and placing them squarely in the everyday world.  His fast-paced plots, whether set in the real world or in peculiar fantasy universes, take the reader into ever stranger and more twisted territory.  His short stories, an often under-appreciated element of his body of work, range in tone from gruesome and surreal to inspirational.  Several of his works have been adapted as movies: The Green MileHearts in Atlantis, The Shawshank Redemption, The Shining, Carrie, Stand By Me, and Misery are just a few. 
 
And when you’ve read everything there is to read, what should you read next?  Try these authors…

Printable version

a

a Continue reading


1 Comment

Tales for the TARDIS

Suggested reads for fans of Doctor Who           

The Doctor is witty, mysterious, old-fashioned, futuristic, chronologically mind-bending, thrilling, exotic, and darkly funny.  These stories share many of these elements set in paranormal universes shaped by time travel and the intersection of historical and science fiction.

Click here for an animated version of this booklist

Printable version

Continue reading